Newton Foundation for Advancement of Math and Science Education

A 501(c)(3) non-profit, our main activity is holding annual mathematics competitions for high school students in the mid-atlantic region around March.

Newton Math Competition - Mid Atlantic 2019 (Washington DC - Pennsylvania Chapter)

We are pleased to announce The Newton Mathematics Competition Mid-Atlantic-2019 to be held in the Washington DC Metro Area and Pennsylvania.
This year's program is sponsored by the Newton Foundation and local institutions.
Competition covers pre-calculus mathematics and is open to all students from grades 9 through 12 in the Mid-Atlantic region.
There will be prizes and awards for top scoring students, teams, coaches and schools.
This program is free, and participating schools or individuals are to provide their own transportation.

Place: George Washington University - Funger Hall
Date: January 18th & 19th, 2019
       - and -
Place: Kings College (133 N River St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711)
Date: January 22nd, 2019

Registration deadline for both competitions: January 7th, 2019
Timing for both competitions: 8-9am reception, 9-11am individual, 1-3pm team

Newton Math Competition Registration

A high school may enter a maximum of 20 students who will all participate in Individual Competition in the morning.
Each high school may also form teams of 3 or 4 students, from among the registered students, for the Team Competition in the afternoon.

All students and accompanying coaches must be registered in advance by the registration deadline.

Please download the registration form and complete information for all students and the team(s), then email it to us.
The students information is kept confidential and will only be used for the awarding of prizes.


Sample Questions

Individual Competition             Team Competition

2019 PA Chapter

Individual Entry

  1. Tianwei Li (Wyoming Seminary)
  2. Joint: Felix Hammond & Lixiang Yin (Wyoming Seminar)
  3. Kailey Bridgeman (Scranton Preparatory School)
  4. Gabe Lott (Wyoming Seminary)
  5. Max Liu (Wyoming Seminary)
  6. Zherui Zhang (Wyoming Seminary)
  7. Ray Wang (Wyoming Seminary)
  8. Xiyue Tan (Wyoming Seminary)
  9. Brendan Woods (Wyoming Valley West)

Team Entry

  1. Gabe Lott, Max Liu, Dylan Andes, Felix Hammond (Wyoming Seminary)
  2. Owen Li, Kevin Shen, Roy Wang, Shirley Wu (Wyoming Seminary)
  3. Andy Yin, Michael Zhang, Sophie Tah (Wyoming Seminary)
  4. Jacob Shusta, Brendan Woods, Zachary Brandreth, Ian Cavalari (Wyoming Valley West)
  5. Alana Simrell, Maureen Nole, Kailey Bridgeman, Travis Bridgeman (Scranton Prep)

2019 Mid-Atlantic & DC Metro Area

Individual Entry

  1. Brandon Ou (Langley H.S.)
  2. Daniel Palamarchuk (Langley H.S.)
  3. Liyuan Liu (Langley H.S.)
  4. Aryaman Arora (School Without Walls H.S.)
  5. Hyohyun Jung (McLean H.S.)
  6. Joint: Youngmin Kwon & Christopher Tillotson (McLean H.S.)
  7. Joint: Alex Chen (Langley H.S.) & Shinwoo Jeon (McLean H.S.)
  8. Kathryn Kim (McLean H.S.)
  9. Joint: Maurice Curran & Grace Grossman (George C. Marshall H.S.)
  10. Paul Linza (George C. Marshall H.S.)

Team Entry

  1. Youngmin Kwon, Shinwoo Jeon, Christopher Tillotson, Hyohyun Jung (McLean H.S.)
  2. Brandon Ou, Daniel Palamarchuck, Justin Chen (Langley H.S.)
  3. Jae Cho, Dianne Ge, Liyuan Liu, Alex Chen (Langley H.S.)

Committee Members

  • Dr. Mohamad Nouri, Chair, The Newton Foundation
  • Dr. Ali Eskandarian, The George Washington University
  • Dr. Janine Janoski, King's College
  • Dr. Daniel J. Ghezzi, King's College
  • Corinne Drost, Head, Math Dept, Wilkes-Barre Area School District
  • Samuel Elias, Math Dept, Wilkes-Barre Area School District
  • Pamela Douglas, Head, Math Dept, Langley High School
  • Todd Gunther, Berwick High School
  • Ed Groth, Wyoming Valley West High School
  • Mark Mariello, Acadia Systems
  • Alan Altschuler, George C. Marshall High School

Contact Us

Dr. M. Nouri, Chair

  • Address

    6211 Stoneham Ln
    McLean, VA 22101-2344
  • Phone

    +1 (703) 790-1273
  • Fax

    +1 (703) 821-1020